done good, played strong

I have never been a fan of self congratulation. I have made it a practice not to go down the road of self affirmation. I think mostly this comes from my perception that if you need self affirmation then you probably don’t deserve it, rather it reveals how needy you are and looking needy is unflattering. So this becomes a loop: if you look like you don’t need flattery you are due a little and if you look like you need flattery you don’t deserve its pleasures.

Following this through it all becomes a question about deserving. Do you deserve congratulation? Do I? Does anyone? Maybe, maybe not. It doesn’t really matter because to live without congratulation, without affirmation, without a clear value of self is to shackle oneself to a awkward misaligned adolescent iteration of being and never to grow up.

Peter Pan didn’t need self congratulation. He never got to the point where he could give himself a pat on the back, he is always the boy whom others adored and congratulated. Shit, if I could fly I wouldn’t worry too much about telling myself how great it I am, there’d be so many others doing that.

I am a grown up and I need to practice self congratulation and find value in my life. I am not the fat spottty teen I was, I am much, much more. I need to give myself a pat on the back and say, in the manner of Australian blokes: done good, played strong.

About rustichello

A rather too quiet fellow of little reknown.
This entry was posted in domesticity, things belonging to the emperor and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

